College of Agriculture & Natural Resources
Agricultural & Resource Economics

Spotlight on Distinguished AGNR Faculty Member

AREC professor receives high honor in economics
Dr. Marc Nerlove was elected a Distinguished Fellow of the American Economic Association
Image Credit: 
Mike Morgan

Dr. Marc Nerlove, a professor with the Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics (AREC) within the University of Maryland College of Agriculture and Natural Resources (AGNR), recently received one of the most prestigious awards available in his field. Nerlove was elected a Distinguished Fellow of the American Economic Association (AEA) – a recognition bestowed upon a maximum of three outstanding American or Canadian economists each year. He becomes one of only 98 economists in history to earn this distinction since the AEA instituted the award of Distinguished Fellow in 1965.

Nerlove’s work in developing and applying statistical methods to analyze data has had an enduring impact on the field of agriculture and resource economics both in the United States and in developing countries by changing the way economists think about farmers’ responses to price.

In May, Nerlove (pictured at right with UMD President Wallace Loh and Provost Ann Wylie) was also awarded the title of Distinguished University Professor by the University of Maryland – the highest academic honor the university confers upon a faculty member. Before coming to Maryland in 1993, Nerlove worked at other prestigious academic institutions including Johns Hopkins University, Stanford University, Yale University, the University of Chicago, Northwestern University, and the University of Pennsylvania.

During his nearly 50-year career , Nerlove’s scholarly achievements have earned him numerous honors and awards including the John Bates Clark Medal in 1969, given at that time biennially to the American economist under the age of 40 judged to have made the most significant contribution to the field. He has also been made a member of the National Academy of Sciences, a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a Fellow and past President of the Econometric Society, a Fellow of the American Statistical Association, and a Fellow of the American Agricultural Economics Association (now the Agricultural and Applied Economics Association) – all among the highest disciplinary recognitions possible.

Maintained by the IET Department of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources. © 2018. Web Accessibility