Faculty

Faculty

     
Anna Alberini

Anna Alberini
Professor

Environmental Economics, Energy Economics, Econometrics and Statistics

aalberin@umd.edu

2210 Symons Hall

301-405-1267

UMD shell logo bullet point Directory

James Archsmith

James Archsmith
Assistant Professor

Energy Economics, Environmental Economics, Resource Economics

archsmit@umd.edu

2214 Symons Hall 
301-405-1293

UMD shell logo bullet point Directory

UMD shell logo bullet point Website

Erich Battistin

Erich Battistin
Professor

Applied Micro-econometrics and Causality, Economics of Education,
Measurement of Welfare and Social Inequalities, Design and
Evaluation of Public Interventions

ebattist@umd.edu

2212 Symons Hall

301-405-8122

UMD shell logo bullet point DirectoryUMD shell logo bullet point Website

Jing Cai

Jing Cai
Assistant Professor

Development Economics, Household Finance, Chinese Economy

cai516@umd.edu

2122 Symons Hall

301-405-1388

UMD shell logo bullet point DirectoryUMD shell logo bullet point Website

Robert Chambers

Robert Chambers
Professor

Production Theory, Public Economics, Uncertainty, Financial Economics, Trade, Microeconomic Theory

rchamber@umd.edu

2105 Symons Hall

301-405-1266

UMD shell logo bullet point Directory

Jim Hanson

Jim Hanson
Professor and Associate Dean for Extesion

Organic Agriculture, Sustainable Agriculture, International Agricultural Extension Systems, Nutrient Management

jhanson1@umd.edu

1202 Symons Hall

301-405-2907

UMD shell logo bullet point Directory

Jorge Holzer

Jorge Holzer
Associate Professor

Natural Resource and Environmental Economics, Fisheries Economics

jholzer@umd.edu

2116B Symons Hall

301-405-1918

UMD shell logo bullet point Directory

UMD shell logo bullet point Website

Dale Johnson

Dale Johnson
Farm Management Specialist

Farm & Financial Management, Computer Use in Agriculture, International Extension

dmj@umd.edu

2112A Symons Hall

301-405-1275

UMD shell logo bullet point Directory

Kenneth L. Leonard

Kenneth L. Leonard
Associate Professor

Development Economics, Health Economics, Choice under Uncertainty, Social Learning, Rural Africa

kenneth@umd.edu

2116A Symons Hall

301-405-8589

UMD shell logo bullet point Directory

UMD shell logo bullet point Website

Erik Lichtenberg

Erik Lichtenberg
Professor

Agriculture and Environment, Land Use, Natural Resource Economics

elichten@umd.edu

2102 Symons Hall

301-405-1279

UMD shell logo bullet point Directory

Joshua Linn

Joshua Linn
Associate Professor

Environmental Economics, Industrial Organization, Applied Econometrics

linn@umd.edu

2110 Symons Hall

301-405-9881

UMD shell logo bullet point DirectoryUMD shell logo bullet point Website

Lori Lynch

Lori Lynch
Professor and Chair

Environmental and Agricultural Policy

llynch@umd.edu

2117 Symons Hall

301-405-1264

UMD shell logo bullet point Directory

James MacDonald

James MacDonalnd
Research Professor

Agricultural Economics, Industrial Organization

jmacdon2@umd.edu

2216 Symons Hall

301-405-1293

UMD shell logo bullet point Directory

David Newburn

David Newburn
Associate Professor

Environmental and Resource Economics, Land Economics, Water Resource Economics, Spatial Modeling

dnewburn@umd.edu

2222A Symons Hall

301-405-8042

UMD shell logo bullet point Directory
UMD shell logo bullet point Website

Lars Olson

Lars Olson
Professor

Natural Resource and Environmental Economics, Economics of Invasive Species, Growth Theory and Economic Dynamics, Economics of Uncertainty

ljolson@umd.edu

3204 Symons Hall

301-405-7180

UMD shell logo bullet point Directory

Louis Preonas

Louis Preonas
Assistant Professor

Energy Economics, Environmental Economics, Development Economics

lpreonas@umd.edu

2104 Symons Hall

301-405-0017

UMD shell logo bullet point Directory

UMD shell logo bullet point Website

Steve Salant

Stephen W. Salant
Research Professor

Resource Economics, Environmental Regulation and Climate Change, Industrial Organization

ssalant1@umd.edu

2213 Symons Hall
301-405-1293

UMD shell logo bullet point Directory

Neslihan Uler

Neslihan Uler
Assistant Professor

Public Economics, Experimental Economics, Behavioral Economics, Environmental Economics

neslihan@umd.edu

2106 Symons Hall

301-405-1273

UMD shell logo bullet point DirectoryUMD shell logo bullet point Website

Rob Williams

Roberton C. Williams III
Professor

Public Economics, Environmental Economics, Microeconomic Theory

roberton@umd.edu

2126 Symons Hall

301-405-1284

UMD shell logo bullet point Directory

Mary Zaki

Mary Zaki
Assistant Professor

Household Finance, Household Consumption and Food Insecurity, Fragile Households

mzaki@umd.edu

2112B Symons Hall

301-405-7502

UMD shell logo bullet point DirectoryUMD shell logo bullet point Website

Emeritus

     
Nancy Bockstael

Nancy Bockstael
Professor Emeritus, Retired

Environmental Valuation, Land Use and the Environment

nancyb@umd.edu

2200 Symons Hall

 

Jarvis Cain
Professor Emeritus, Retired

jcain2@umd.edu

2200 Symons Hall

 

Ian Hardie
Professor Emeritus, Retired

Forestry Economics, Land Use, 

ihardie@umd.edu

2200 Symons Hall

 

Darrell Hueth
Professor Emeritus, Retired

Uniandes Program, Ag-related Environmental Problems, Policy & Project Evaluation

dhueth@umd.edu

2200 Symons Hall

Richard Just

Richard Just
Distinguished University Professor Emeritus, Retired

Welfare Economics, Risk and Production, Quantitative Policy Analysis, Technology Adoption, Management of Public Research, Pesticide Regulation

rjust@umd.edu

2200 Symons Hall

Howard Leathers

Howard Leathers
Associate Professor Emeritus, Retired

Agricultural Policy, Marketing & Production, World Food Issues

howardl@umd.edu

2200 Symons Hall

Douglas Lipton

Douglas Lipton
Associate Professor Emeritus

Fisheries, Seafood, Marine Recreation, Non-Market Valuation

dlipton@umd.edu

2200 Symons Hall
301-405-1280

Ted McConnell

Kenneth E. (Ted) McConnell
Professor Emeritus, Retired

Environmental and Resource Economics

tmcconn@umd.edu

2200 Symons Hall

John Moore

John R. Moore
Professor Emeritus, Retired

Agricultural Trade, Economic Development, Land Use and the Environment

jrm@umd.edu

2200 Symons Hall

Marc Nerlove

Marc Nerlove
Distinguished University Professor Emeritus, Retired

Econometrics, Environmental and Resource Economics, Likelihood Inference in Econometrics, Agricultural Development and Growth

mnerlove@umd.edu

2200 Symons Hall

 

Ivar Strand
Professor Emeritus, Retired

Natural Resource Economics, Fisheries

ivars@umd.edu

2200 Symons Hall

Professional Track

     
Paul Goeringer

Paul Goeringer
Extension Legal Specialist

Agricultural Law, Crop Insurance and Risk Management Issues

lgoering@umd.edu

3204 Symons Hall

301-405-3541

UMD shell logo bullet point Directory

UMD shell logo bullet point Website

 

John Hall
Faculty Assistant

Crop Insurance

jehall@umd.edu

3204 Symons Hall

410-778-1661
 

Alex Halpern
Faculty Assistant

ahalper1@umd.edu

Rachel Rosenberg Goldstein

Rachel Rosenberg Goldstein
Assistant Research Professor
CONSERVE

Water Reuse, Environmental Microbiology

rerosenb@umd.edu

3125 Symons Hall

301-405-5125

UMD shell logo bullet point Directory

UMD shell logo bullet point Website

Thanicha Ruangmas

Thanicha Ruangmas
Assistant Clinical Professor
First-Year Innovation and Research Center (FIRE)

ruangmas@umd.edu

2209 Symons Hall

301-405-5849

UMD shell logo bullet point Website

Mayhah Suri

Mayhah R. Suri
Faculty Specialist

Water Reuse, Agricultural Law, Crop Insurance and Risk Management Issues

msuri1@umd.edu

3204 Symons Hall

301-405-9576

UMD shell logo bullet point Directory

Adjunt & Affiliate

     
Peter Cramton

Peter Cramton
Adjunct Faculty

Peter Cramton is Professor of Economics at the University of Cologne and in the Department of Economics at the University of Maryland, College Park.

pcramton@gmail.com

UMD shell logo bullet point Website

Maureen Cropper

Maureen Cropper
Affiliated Faculty

Maureen Cropper is Distinguished University Professor and Chair of Department of Economics, University of Maryland, College Park.

mcropper@econ.umd.edu

UMD shell logo bullet point Website

 

Taryn Devereux
Faculty Specialist
International Women in Agriculture

Taryn Devereux is a Faculty Specialist with UMD Extension, specializing in international programming, research and teaching.

taryndev@umd.edu

UMD shell logo bullet point Directory

 

Shannon P. Dill
Affiliate Principle Extension Agent

sdill@umd.edu

Rolf Fare

Rolf Färe
Adjunct Faculty

Rolf Färe is a Professor of Agricultural and Resource Economics at Oregon State University.

rolf.fare@oregonstate.edu

UMD shell logo bullet point Website

Sebastien Houde

Sébastien Houde
Adjunct Faculty

Sébastien Houde is an Associate Professor at Grenoble Ecole de Management with a part-time appointment at ETH Zürich. He is also the Scientific Director of The E2e Project-Europe. 

He was an assistant professor with the Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics from 2013-2017. 

sebastien.houde@grenoble-em.com

UMD shell logo bullet point Website

Andreas Lange

Andreas Lange
Adjunct Faculty

Andreas Lange is Professor in Department of Economics, University of Hamburg.

andreas.lange@wiso.uni-hamburg.de

UMD shell logo bullet point Website

John Quiggin

John Quiggin
Adjunct Faculty

John Quiggin is Professor and Federation Fellow at the School of Economics, University of Queensland.

j.quiggin@uq.edu.au

UMD shell logo bullet point Website