Policy Experience of the Faculty

Faculty of the Department have held some of the most prominent positions in government responsible for agricultural and environmental policy.

Senior Staff Economist, President's Council of Economic Advisors
Bob Chambers 1985-1986
Howard Leathers 1992-1993
Erik Lichtenberg 1993-1994
John List 2002-2003

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Science Advisory Board
Anna Alberini 2003-2009
Maureen Cropper (Affiliate) 1997-2006
John List 2001

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER), Development Economics Program
Jing Cai (Faculty Research Fellow, 2016-present)

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER), Environmental Economics Working Group
Rob Williams (Faculty Research Fellow, 2000-2008; Research Associate, 2008-present)
Maureen Cropper (Affiliate, UMCP Econ) (Research Associate, 2007-present)
John List (Faculty Research Fellow, 2003-2005; Research Associate 2005-present)

Resources for the Future, Senior Fellows
Rob Williams
Maureen Cropper (Affiliate, UMCP Econ)

Service in other U.S. organizations and government agencies
Anna Alberini: Statistical Advisory Committee to the US Department of Energy, 2015 to present.
Jim Hanson: National Research Council Committee, Twenty-First Century Systems Agriculture, 2010
Doug Lipton: Cooperatives in Aquaculture, Northeast Regional Aquaculture Center, 2010
Lori Lynch: Economic Research Service, USDA, 1989-1991; Maryland Biomass Harvesting and Market Analysis Steering Committee, 2009-2010; BAYSTAT Program Scientific Advisory Panel, 2008-2016
Rob Williams: National Academies Panel, Effects of Provisions in the Internal Revenue Code on Greenhouse Gas Emissions, 2011-2013.